Ubuntu Tasks – Week 3

Today wraps up week 3 of the 2013 Ubuntu App Showdown, with 19 days left.

I’ve been very busy working on a very useful feature for Ubuntu Tasks – Trello integration! So far I’ve added read-only support for the following:

  • Connect to Trello
  • View Trello boards
  • View cards in a Trello board. This includes:
    • Name
    • Description
    • 1st Checklist
  • Keep a local copy of Trello boards and cards for faster startup

Unfortunately, my original UI design did not include the concept of lists, which Trello uses as a level between boards and cards (what I call projects and tasks). I haven’t been able to come up with any ideas on how to integrate this, so I asked for suggestions on Google+ and Sam Hewitt is going to work on a design for me (very much appreciated).

Along with Trello integration, I’ve also been working on minor UI improvements in other areas, which include:

  • Redesigned checklists
  • Better names for the buttons to create a new project and add a new task
  • A new date picker widget

I’ve still got a lot to do before the deadline, September 15. I’d like to complete the following features:

  • Sorting of tasks
  • Better Trello integration, including:
    • Being able to modify/create/delete Trello boards/lists/cards
    • Lists
    • Labels
  • Dependencies on other tasks (maybe)

So, as you can see, this list of features is gradually shrinking. My own project backend, which syncs with U1, is basically feature complete, unless I think of other features other than the above list. Most of my work will go into improving the UI and Trello integration.

Leave a Reply

