Ubuntu Tasks – Statistics, Improved Categories, and More

Over the past two days, I’ve gotten a lot done on Ubuntu Tasks!

First of all, I’ve added an initial Suru theme! I couldn’t think of any really good new color scheme, so I chose one from the core app that uses my favorite color, blue – the Calculator app. I plan on replacing this with my own as soon I as I can think of a good enough color scheme.

qmlscene: mainView_027

In addition, I’ve redesigned the way categories work, so they can be created by themselves. There are three ways to create a category: by clicking “New Category” in the Categories toolbar button, by using the “Move” toolbar button when viewing a task, or when creating a new task.

Categories can now also exist even after all the tasks in it have been deleted, or when there are no tasks in the category, both of which were severe limitations that previously existed.

Creating a new category

Creating a new category

Actions available on the current category

Actions available on the current category

Moving a task to a new category

Moving a task to a new category

Choosing a category when creating a new task

Choosing a category when creating a new task

Also, there is another new icon in the toolbar – Statistics! That’s right, now you can view progress on tasks for as many days as will fit in the sheet. This is very similar to Ubuntu’s burndown charts. It will show completed, non-completed, and overdue status. I’m currently trying to come up with a method so that the total number of tasks doesn’t grow and grow and grow forever and never go down. I’m thinking what I’ll do is delete tasks that have been completed after 30 days.

 

qmlscene: mainView_036

So far, developing the app has been a breeze, and I’m really looking forward to seeing it finished and the results of the App Showdown!

Over the next few days, I plan on working on rearranging tasks and adding checklists of subitems.

As always, I’d love all the feedback I can get. Particularly, it would be great to get suggestions on the Suru theme colors!

Leave a Reply

