App Update – Ubuntu Tasks

I haven’t had much time to work on Ubuntu Tasks today, but I still made some nice improvements.

First of all, I’ve added color-coded labels! Currently, these indicate priority, but in the future, I want to turn this into more of simply a label feature, like in Trello, where labels can be used to sort tasks. For example, I might label one task as a “Bug”, while another might be “Schoolwork” or “App Showdown” – you name it! I’ve also added a checkbox in the task list item to allow marking the task as completed right from the tasks list. In the options popover, there is now a way to hide completed tasks (which is on by default, but turned off in the following screenshot)

Color-coded labels

Color-coded labels

I’ve also been working on improving the page to view tasks. I’ve removed the clunky edit mode, and simplified editing, so know to edit, simply click on the item you want to change.

The new task page

The new task page

For example, clicking on the task’s title turns it into a text field, allowing the task to be renamed:

Editing elements of a task

Editing elements of a task

Since the View Task page and the Add Task sheet share the same UI, the Add Task sheet has been updated as well

Adding a new task

Adding a new task

Clicking on the due date button brings up a dialog allowing the user to type in a date. Currently, the user must hand-type a date in. I plan on making a date spinner somewhat like that on iOS.

Editing a date

Editing a date

And finally, clicking the label button brings up a popover allowing the user to select the label:

Selecting a label

Selecting a label

 

I’ve also been working on checklists, which will be a way to add sub-items to a task that must be checked off in order to complete the task

 

So, What’s Next?

Here is a list of things I want to add over the next couple of days:

  • Manually reordering tasks by dragging (I plan to later add auto-sorting based on relevence of each task)
  • A REAL date picker
  • Multiple task lists

I also plan on investigating integration with Trello, since I really like that service.

 

As always, feedback and suggestions are always much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

